6 Comments

Writing – A Few Interesting Thoughts

If I were authorized to address any word directly to our novelists, I should say: Do not trouble yourself about standards or ideals, but try to be faithful and natural…. – William Dean Howells

The artist (in literature) appeals to that part of our being which is not dependant on wisdom; to that in us which is a  gift and not an acquisition – and, therefore, more permanently enduring. He speaks to our capacity for delight and wonder, to the sense of mystery surrounding our lives; to our sense of pity, and beauty, and pain.  –  Joseph Conrad

I love that for years, the,  I am trying to grasp the word here, energy (?) of a writer has captivated the minds of many. It is true, that writers can take people to so many places, make them feel deep emotions, and educate. I like the first saying, try to be faithful and natural. I am reading a book written by  a friend.  It is like sitting down with him and chatting. Nice style to it!

This is where the pearls of wisdom end tonight.

6 comments on “Writing – A Few Interesting Thoughts

  1. This is sign number three!

    I’m in the process of writing a book (truthfully it’s more like three or four). The idea kept me up nights, till those nights turned into years out of fear of mistakes and ridicule. English is my second language and the majority of my education came from Catholic and private schools, where perfection is always encouraged (forced) by our teachers (nuns who do not hesitate to use very big rulers).

    These quotes, fortune cookies from last week and an encouraging email from a random stranger/blogger is a clear message from the universe. I always ask God for three signs…

    I also wanted to stop by to thank you for following my blog. Best wishes, have a great day!

    Like

  2. As always Liz, your “pearls” are some of the largest and shiniest I’ve seen. I too am embarking on the journey to write a book that’s been nagging at me for four years now. It’s begging to be written, but somehow I can’t get that first sentence out. Thanks to your inspiration, and support, and the work I’ve put into making myself into a “writer” again, I’m going to begin today.
    Christine, this part could apply to you as well… another writer I’ve had encouragement from told me this: One page… One double-spaced page per day, produces 365 pages in a year. Rather than us squandering our time dwelling on why we CAN’T write out books, if we spent time writing ONE page per day, our hearts and minds would lighten because the story would finally tell itself… When I take Liz’s advice, and the other author’s advice, somehow I feel a bit silly that I haven’t given MYSELF enough of a chance to write my book. Cast aside your doubts Christine.. your heart is ready to write!
    Tami

    Like

Please, Leave a Reply

