9 Comments

Quote from the Dandy Section

“A dandy is a clothes-wearing man, a man whose trade, office, and existence consist in the wearing of clothes. Every faculty of his soul, spirit, person and purse is heroically consecrated to this one object – the wearing of clothes wisely and well; so that as others dress to live, he lives to dress.” – Carlyle

9 comments on “Quote from the Dandy Section

  1. *chuckle* I love this quote. From what I’ve heard “Beau Brummel” was apparently the ultimate Dandy. Sometimes I wish I would have a chance to see this. *grin*

    Like

    • HI Raani! I had to go on Wikipedia to refresh my memory of Beau. Yes I would say that he was a dandy! I think it would have been interesting living back then too. The clothing was beautiful, but I think it would have been hot wearing all those layers that ladies were expected to wear.

      Like

      • *chuckle* – Yes, and the wigs and the corsets… Sheeesh I’d be bruised all over the place by collapsing.

        Like

  2. Oh my goodness! I think I went and married a dandy! No WONDER it didn’t work out! hahaha Love this one Liz, and quite needed the chuckle! xo
    Tami

    Like

  3. I became a female dandy after my divorce. 🙂

    Like

Please, Leave a Reply

