2 Comments

Tornado Tracking – 53 Years in the Making

One of the blogs that I follow (Grist) had a link to the following site.  I was amazed at the visual data that has been recorded over the years.  It looks like a streaking light show.  What was a bit more disturbing, is that there is a very large population base located in the heaviest hit sectors of the USA.  The following comments are only from my mental cues, so please know that I do not mean to disrespect anyone for their choices.

I don’t know if I would have what it takes to live in an area where the threats to family and property would always lurk in the back of my mind.  This must put a subliminal stress to their lives.  The disaster drills, taught at school, home and work,  are well thought out and delivered on a regular basis, but still the enemy would be casting his dark shadow over me daily. That combined with the population base trying to get out-of-the-way, or travel the emergency evacuation routes, or even have a form of communication, in a real event, must be mind-blowing. Now I am going to throw in the heat, the further south you are. When the power is knocked out because of the storm, or other disaster, it is likely that the elderly and young ones are going to be feeling the heat stress rather quickly.

The only thing I can think of that would show my thoughts of organized chaos, is akin to picking up a rock, and underneath it is an ant hill. It really doesn’t take that long for the group to move the eggs to another section out of harms way, but they  crawl all over each other in the process. The stress shows by their movements.

If any of you have read my short story, Things  That Go Bump in the Day, https://littleboxofbooks.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/things-that-go-bump-in-the-day/   you will notice that tornadoes make me uneasy anyway.

I am  pretty sure that the choices we make, as where to live, are personal as well as economical.  I just know, that I would have a hard time wondering if I should I have this child,  buy this home or take this job, knowing that it could be wiped out with the twist of fate or Mother Nature’s hand. Despite this, you face life head on. You may very well be better, stronger people than I.

http://visually.visually.netdna-cdn.com/TornadoTracks_4fbd458d255c5.jpg

2 comments on “Tornado Tracking – 53 Years in the Making

  1. Gosh. To say I agree sounds so puny in comparison to the havoc a natural disaster makes on the environment it hits. I live in CA. that means earthquakes. I had not really thought about how one would feel until I went through one and saw, first hand, the power mother nature can inflict in a bleak of an eye. We now live in Sacramento, away from the earthquake zone but smack dab in the middle of a potential flood area. Sigh…I guess you deal with the hand that God gives us.

    Like

    • It is true that you deal with the hand dealt. I think I was setback by the picture, knowing the population base is high. There are so many hits. I wonder what the earthquake map or flood map would look like? Maybe ignorance is bliss! Thank you for commenting, Susan. Wishing you a flood free life!

      Like

Please, Leave a Reply

