10 Comments

Ok, I know I don’t write recipes here, but this one…

I couldn’t resist this simple recipe that seems to have originated in Australia. (Yeah Auzzies!)

It is called:

Crash Hot Potatoes

Prep Time: 30 Minutes       Cook Time: 25 Minutes    Difficulty: Easy     Servings: 6

Ingredients

  • 12 whole New Potatoes (or Other Small Round Potatoes)
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • Kosher Salt To Taste
  • Black Pepper To Taste
  • Rosemary (or Other Herbs Of Choice) To Taste

Preparation Instructions

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Add in as many potatoes as you wish to make and cook them until they are fork-tender.

On a sheet pan, generously drizzle olive oil. Place tender potatoes on the cookie sheet leaving plenty of room between each potato.

With a potato masher, gently press down each potato until it slightly mashes, rotate the potato masher 90 degrees and mash again. Brush the tops of each crushed potato generously with more olive oil.

Sprinkle potatoes with kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper and fresh chopped rosemary (or chives or thyme or whatever herb you have available.)

Bake in a 450 degree oven for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

This version is courtesy of The Pioneer Woman

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/06/crash-hot-potatoes/#recipe-form-29251

I hope you enjoy this yummy version of the pleasant potato!

 

 

10 comments on “Ok, I know I don’t write recipes here, but this one…

  1. Hi Lady,
    This recipe is so easy that even I might try it because I love potatoes. The picture looks good also. Great job.

    How are you? Hope you got my email.

    It is nice seeing you posting again. Keep posting.

    Love you.
    CIao,
    Patricia

    Like

    • Hi Patti! I apologize for taking so long to get back here to reply. No excuses. Yes I did get your e-mail. I was saddened to hear that Gail passed away. I was just starting to follow her in more depth as well, and was looking forward to the collection she was starting to assemble.

      How have you been doing? I have to reread your e-mail to remind myself of the other things you were in the midst of. I will reply to you in a pm.
      Did you try these? I have to agree with Maurice, rosemary is a nice accent.

      Hugs to you!

      Like

  2. I love making these. I have made them many times and my guest love them. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping in Susan. I owe apologies to everyone who commented. I have no excuse.

      I had never tried these before now and wonder why I didn’t know this intuitively when the kids were young??? 🙂

      Hugs to you Susan and I will touch base soon.

      Like

  3. I’m going to give it a try in a few days. Need the rosemary.

    Like

  4. I’m curious now! Thanks for sharing – and why shouldn’t you post a recipe when you feel like once in a rare while? 🙂

    Like

    • It’s just not something that I do on this blog spot. Yes you are right, why not though , if the urge hits me. I just hope I don’t virtually poison anybody.
      Thanks for stopping by Raani and hugs to you, of course.

      Like

  5. Easy enough to do! Looks great Liz!

    Like

    • Thank you Barb! Did you try it yet? If not be sure to follow Maurice’s advise and add a bit of rosemary. It makes such a wonderful taste bud awakening! I am sorry for taking so long to reply. Hugs to you!

      Like

Please, Leave a Reply

